No College Degree? No Problem: Here’s What You Should Do

First off, I encourage you to finish your college course. If you have the means and opportunity, don’t waste your chances. Finish your studies and get a diploma. There’s always an advantage with this. Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash.

However, not all of us have the means to go to or finish college. Like me, I dropped out of college due to financial and health reasons. I tried hard not to by being a working student, to no avail. So I just continued with my employment to help out with the family budget. Later, I went freelancing.

But the Lord blessed me with my employment. Even with no school credentials, I ended up with managerial jobs. The only time I didn’t was when I worked while a student as a draftsman/artist. But as a college dropout I always landed on managerial positions.

Like being PR supervisor, sales account manager, brand officer, marketing manager, product development manager, and later marketing director. Well, I was also news feature writer in a Manila based international news agency, but my work then entailed managerial tasks, though I wasn’t a manager. I was also once an agricultural technician. Imagine?

I also tried my hands at construction supervision, interior design and business on the side. I was also full-time church pastor once, martial arts instructor and then web content writer. Then I finally settled with blogging for a living.

See? The point here is, having no college degree isn’t any excuse for not getting what you want in life. You know why I tried different jobs? Because I wanted to get what I wanted in life. Well, after so many job adventures I finally saw what I really wanted–coaching or mentoring people on life through blogging.

Your question probably is, how did I do it? How did I land on managerial positions despite being a college dropout? Connections? Nope. My only connection was my relationship with God. So what did I do?

I read books–LOTS OF THEM.

As a teenager I HATED books. But sometime in college I started loving them. Well, at first I forced myself to like them but later I fell in love with them. I read every book I could get my hands on–world politics and economics, business, philosophy, psychology, history, Reader’s Digest (lots of it, especially focusing on Word Power), a bit of religion, wellness and health, medicine, and of course, the bible.

I invested a big sum of my money on books.

Yup, knowledge is power. Reading is powerful with personality development and honing your potentials. I strongly recommend it. Read, read, read! Watch how writers use words and grammar and how they construct sentences. Listen to what they say and compare authors. Critique them. Make your mind busy. And most of all, enjoy them!

You want a free e-book plus free life coaching on success, personality, career, potentials and others–via emails? Simply fill up the form below:

Published by

CS Gaerlan

CS Gaerlan. Blogger from Manila. Filipino martial arts instructor, mentor and counselor since 1997. I can help you with self-improvement and stress management.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.